Posted in Uncategorized

BTO Ringing Report | Longevity Records

https://app.bto.org/ring/countyrec/results2014/longevity.htm#3040

Posted in Uncategorized

Not your dad’s bonsai anymore

Adam's Art and Bonsai Blog

I wasn’t going to write a blogpost on this tree but, interestingly, when I posted it on the Socialmediaverse, I got a bunch of people asking me to do a write up.A ficus Benjamina.Theweeping fig.It belongs to Cosette, who got it from her dad.My job is to style it so that Cosette likes it. At the moment she doesn’t. As some of you may know, the ficus Benjamina is not a well liked tree in the bonsai scene in the West. Not talking about Japan, because there aren’t many Japanese nurseries that use anyficus (though Kimura has one) but in the East, it’s used extensively, especially the southeast Asian countries.

In the West, I believe the contempt is two fold. Firstly, many people consider it an indoor houseplant. And once you describe a tree that can withstand being indoors, there’s a knee jerk reaction against…

View original post 897 more words