Posted in Uncategorized

Just a little wire, Picea Abies

Bonsai Kas: Bonsai, drawings, scale models and more

This Norway Spruce (Picea Abies) was bought two years ago in a gardening center. It was one of those trees they sell for half price in the back and it was not in a healthy shape. Basically it was a dense half dead cone of falling needles. I saw some potential in the trunk shape and eventhough I’m more of a deciduous man I took it home. I thinned it out quite heavily and then let it be for two years. With this first round of pruning I made sure to open it up, give it some air and find some interesting movement around the trunk. The thing I love most about growing bonsai is how happy and healthy you can make a tree by just repotting it and giving it some love. This one was very rewarding and this spring it showed some very vigorous and compact growth.

I decided it was ready…

View original post 82 more words

Leave a Reply

