Posted in Uncategorized

Sandhill Cranes at Twilight

Wildlifewatcher's Blog

These Sandhill Cranes were spotted in The Villages, FL on April 3, 2017 and also yesterday.  I saw the big birds at both the Live Oak Park area near the pond North of the park on the East side, and also at Paradise Park.  Both groups of the cranes were seen in the very early evening hours.

The flock at Paradise Park was quite near Swartz Park.  This lake has two smaller parks and the large Paradise Park.  The lake is ringed on three sides with homes and on the other side with the big park.  The birds were there in search of their evening meal and probably to engage in courtship rituals.  I saw a lot of jumping and flapping of wings.  I am still getting to know my new-to-me camera which has a lot of adjustments I am not yet familiar with.  I apparently had mis-set my speed…

View original post 58 more words

Leave a Reply

