Posted in Uncategorized

Child labor and bonsai, an exposé

Adam's Art and Bonsai Blog

That’s right, it’s like the 19th century for children in my nursery. Not only do I force my own children to pull weeds in the midday Florida heat, repotting ficus after ficus, and trimming thorny bougainvilleas without gloves, I have found a way to exploit a loophole in the State of Florida Orphanage and Child Work System. I can use parentless children for farm labor and, get this, they pay me to do it! And you should see what happens when the plucky ones ask for more gruel. It’s off to the un-wiring shed for them where the task of removing the miles of wire I’ve put on my trees is removed. This is Benjamin, one more bit of backtalk and it’s weeding with chopsticks for him.



Actually, it was out of his neighbors yard where I dug out the main subject of this article, a bougainvillea (which was chronicled…

View original post 593 more words

Leave a Reply

